Why Hire A San Diego Domestic Violence Lawyer
In the past few years, domestic violence has received increased attention from the law enforcement officers in San Diego, California. The law enforcement officers take domestic abuse cases very seriously. Even if there is a lack of evidence with regards to the domestic abuse, local prosecutors are likely to pursue the cases. If you are facing charges in San Diego or its surrounding areas, then you should consider hiring a San Diego domestic violence attorney in order to help protect your rights.
The term “domestic violence” covers several different crimes. The following are the most common charges of “domestic abuse” or “domestic violence”:
The California Penal Code § 243(e) (1) makes it a crime to inflict violence upon a partner with whom you are intimate. The category of persons includes your dating partner, your wife, your co-habitant, your former spouse, your fiancé, or even the parent of your child. No visible injury is required for a conviction, unlike the crime of a corporal injury to your co-habitant or your spouse. Hire the services of a San Diego criminal defense lawyer, who will create a defense strategy based on his experience of handling past cases and on evidence.
CORPORAL INJURY TO A CO-HABITANT OR A SPOUSE
The California Penal Code § 273.5 makes it a crime to willfully inflict any corporal injury upon your co-habitant or your spouse, which results in a condition, which is highly traumatic in nature. This crime is typically committed, when you strike or otherwise physically injure your partner, causing visible injury such as a bruise or a swelling and harming them in a violent way. When the alleged victim is cohabitant, a current or former spouse, or the parent of your child, then the domestic charge can be pressed. Do not trust your life and your freedom in the hands of an inexperienced lawyer, but approach a good San Diego Iranian criminal defense lawyer with extensive connections with the Iranian community who is able to speak and understand the same culture and traditions.
The California Penal Code § 368 makes it a crime to inflict emotional, financial, or even physical abuse on an elderly person. It also makes it a crime to neglect someone above 65 years of age. These charges can be pressed against even the child or the children of the elderly person.
The consequences of a case of domestic abuse against a person can have grave consequences including a fine anywhere between $2000 to $6000 dollars, imprisonment in prison or the county jail from one to up to four years, or both, depending on the severity of the case. The state laws are constantly changing. Therefore, consider hiring the services of a domestic violence defense lawyer in San Diego or a San Diego criminal defense attorney, who will work with you to fight the charges against you.
For more information about the various defenses for your domestic violence case, and to schedule your free consultation, contact Omid Rejali at the Rejali Law Firm. Mr. Rejali can be reached 24/7 toll free at 844-4REJALI or 619-887-4148
If you are in danger, call 911, San Diego Domestic Violence Hotline (888) DV-LINKS / (888) 385-4657 or the U.S. National Domestic Violence Hotline at (800) 799-7233 • TTY (800) 787-3224.